Reminders of childhood

I know through work many intelligent, creative and talented people. This is the invitation to an exhibition by one of those people…
Invitation

Mark is an incredibly talented designer and artist.  The image used for the invitation is the design of an old school book.  When he gave it to me, I remembered all the good times of sitting in class, ignoring all the other rubbish that was going on in my life and concentrating on the work in front of me.  I wouldn’t want to go back to those times, but this image brought back a time in my life where I could escape into learning.  That escape was my lifeline…

Today, I’m thankful for that reminder.

7 thoughts on “Reminders of childhood

  1. *sigh* I wish, I could go to the exhibition. We love art. Maybe he has a website where we could take a look at his art???
    School… It’s good that you have some positive memories of the school.
    Take care

    • Hi LostShadowChild 🙂

      I found that Mark does have a website – http://www.markcurtis.co.nz/. But his work is predominantly multi-media (he uses glitter a great deal), so the photos don’t do his work justice. I wish I had the courage to go to his exhibit… but my anxieties mean I won’t be able to go.

      I liked getting lost in the school work… It was my coping mechanism, much like work is now.

      Take care,
      CG

      • Unfortunately, I really know these anxieties too 😦
        It means so many restrictions 😦 I had written about it on my blog a while ago. I thought the exhibition might be in an Art Gallery which is not so crowded. Maybe you just go and take carefully a closer look? With some luck, you caught a time when not so many visitors are there. Nobody, who could go along with you?

        • I might try and sneak in on my morning off work… that will mean it will be quiet 🙂 I love Art, I don’t always understand it, but I love looking at it and experiencing it!

Please leave a comment

