Do your ears hang low?

Yes, I probably have lost the plot… but anyway, here goes…

All morning I’ve had the children’s song “Do your ears hang low” in my head… over and over and over…  It’s not in “my voice”, but a younger ones voice.  I try to ask if it’s for comfort – the voice gets louder.  I ask if it’s because that song means something – the voice gets quieter.  I ask if it’s to do with Mr G. (our primary school teacher who sometimes ran the singing during school assembly) – the voice gets louder again.  I ask if it’s to do with the deputy principal – there’s total silence.

Ok… so does the voice getting louder mean that what I said was important, or when it’s getting quieter?  Am I finally losing my sanity, and will forever have the following lines ringing in my head:

Do your ears hang low?
Do they wobble to and fro?
Can you tie them in a knot?
Can you tie them in a bow?
Can you throw them o’er your shoulder
like a Continental Soldier?
Do your ears hang low?

So you get the full impact of this crazy making… here’s a hint at what I’m getting… over and over and over…

One hint, the voice is singing it in tune… that probably means that it’s from one of the ones who got us into the school choir.

Argh!!!

14 thoughts on “Do your ears hang low?

  1. I dunno.
    Sometimes later on, pieces fall into place.
    If she can sing, surely she can speak?
    Maybe explain that you can’t read her mind, and if she has something to say, she just gonna have to be more clear….
    Maybe you could sing along with the kid?
    Do the gestures that go with the song? It could be a fun thing to do together.
    Did your T ever phone?
    TC
    Ones

    • Hi Ones,

      There’s no speaking, it’s just singing… I don’t know if that’s because that’s all she knows, or because the song is the message. I don’t want to place any demands on the young one, I have no idea of her history or context, so there is a possibility of doing more damage.

      We’ve tried singing, talking, humming… all sorts 🙂

      No, we still haven’t heard back from Liz.

      Take care,
      CG

  2. OH CG, that’s difficult. When I read your post, my first thought was: if the voice gets quieter it means, that what you have said, was important and the right question. Have you any memories to the deputy prinicpal ??
    Please be patient with this little one, also I understand how edgy and irritating this song must be for you. She want’s to tell you something. Take care ((()))

    • Hi LSC,

      I think it’s important when the voice gets quieter too. I have no real memories of Mr G., but I can picture him clearly and get a sense of laughter… however, I can’t picture the deputy principal at all. I think it’s all tied to one day at school when I was jumping from the top to bottom step in front of the library… on one try I fell and twisted my ankle. The deputy principal called home because someone had to come and get me… the father was home and he came. I remember them talking about rugby and joking about how I hurt my ankle in comparison… Then nothing, it’s all blank.

      I know she’s trying to tell me something, I’m just not sure what it is. I vividly remember waiting in the school sick bay for someone to come and get me. I know that by the time someone did get me, my ankle didn’t hurt at all – whether that’s because I didn’t hurt it badly or because of the dissociation, I’m not sure.

      At time the song is irritating, at times we all join in 🙂 I’m playing this YouTube clip of it fairly regularly as that seems to bring some comfort… Whomever is singing the song internally, they can’t get the word “continental soldier” right and instead mumble the words 🙂 That makes me think it’s a really young one… they love the rhythm and tune, but can’t quite get the words.

      Take care,
      CG

  3. wow, that’s a tough one. I’ve sometimes gotten the grade-school song thing in my head but never thot to wonder who it was, or why. This has really given me food for thot.

    • Hi Ivory,

      I’m not sure if it means anything at all… it could just be comfort for the young one. But it’s sure confusing! I’m glad it’s given you something to think about though…

      Take care,
      CG

  4. Hi CG,

    I’m glad that it is comforting. It is hard to have so many questions and so few answers. I can relate. And no you aren’t losing your sanity. It is just that being multiple the definition of sanity is moved over a significant amounton the continuium scale, so much so that it feels like you lose your sanity, at times. Good and healing thoughts to you.
    Kate

    • Thanks Kate… The song is still there, and I get a sense every now and again of the young one being held as she sings. It sure feels crazy-making!

      Take care,
      CG

  5. Well, at least she’s on key, right?

    Have you tried singing it out loud? Maybe you could make a connection if she hears it like that. Sometimes I think they come up to the surface, splash a little, and then sink back down. That way you noticed them, even if they aren’t ready to reveal anything.

    I don’t know. That’s a toughie!

    Lisa

    • Yup, she’s on key… even if some of the words are mumbled 🙂

      I think you’re possibly right about making herself known before hiding again… I’m not sure. I’m trying to take it as it comes and allow it to happen.

      Take care,
      CG

    • Hi Lindsey,

      Thank you. I don’t consider myself special or amazing… just trying to make the most of what I’ve been given.

      Take care,
      CG

Please leave a comment

