Expressive Arts Carnival: Hopes and dreams

The theme for this months Expressive Arts Carnival is:

Through drawing, painting, or any other visual means, create an image that incorporates your personal hopes and dreams.

I’m not sure why, but I found this activity really easy to do.  This, of course, makes me incredibly suspicious… did I not think it through properly… did I focus too much on the happy, cheery aspect of it all… did I do the exercise when so dissociated, that it will make no sense in an hour/day/week… That sort of self-doubt is the kind of thing that I hope to one day not live with so strongly.

When I was thinking of how to sum up my hopes and dreams visually, my immediate thought was to have an image of a woman confidently smiling into the camera. This is my ultimate hope… to be able to look people in the eye, with a smile on my face, and without the need to dissociate in order to accomplish it.  Because, if I can do that, then I will have confidence and a sense of self-worth; and I won’t be living under the cloud of shame that envelopes me and directs so many of my actions.

The problem with this, was that it was based on having a photo that could represent that feeling/image.  I can’t put an image of myself on this blog, and I felt uncomfortable finding a representative image.  I’m not quite sure why there was resistance to doing so, but I think it was because it would be having someone else’s face represent my hope for the future.  As a result, I purposefully moved away from images, and instead created the following Wordle

These are my long term hopes… so closer to the 10 year, rather than 5 year time-frame.  Some are about where I want to be physically (healthy and by the ocean), but a majority are about my mental health.

In many ways, my hopes and dreams are about possibilities… just daring to have hopes and dreams is about the possibility for a future.  Then, to have that future possibly be better than what I currently experience, is another possibility.  It is possible, because anything is possible.  Add to that my determination to have a life worth living, and I definitely think it’s possible.

12 thoughts on “Expressive Arts Carnival: Hopes and dreams

  1. This Wordle made me really happy CG. Happy for you. It’s beautiful to see you able to hope and see possibilities and to see that those hopes are reachable and realistic.

    You CAN have these things in your life and it’s really healthy for you to visualize that.

    *warm hug, if that’s ok*

    • Hi tb,

      Thanks 🙂

      I think this was important for me to do so quickly, and when I did. I was right, in that I was dissociated when I did this, and I don’t connect with it well now, but it’s there… hopes and dreams are there, written for all to see. I needed to do that, and have that recorded somewhere for when I lose sight of it all…

      (((warm safe hugs))) to those who want them 🙂
      Take care,
      CG

    • Hi Alice,

      I’m so glad this helped you to smile… there should be more smiles happening in this world 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting… seeing this helped me smile too.

      Take care,
      CG

  2. I love so much that you said, “my hopes and dreams are about possibilities… just daring to have hopes and dreams is about the possibility for a future.” I have a hard time with hopes and dreams, and what you wrote really helped to put it in perspective for me, in a new way.

Please leave a comment

