Venturing out

Today, I ventured outside for the first time in months.  Yes, I’ve been going to work, and doing the bare necessities in the way of chores; but I haven’t been outside for anything other than that for a long time.  It was also the first time I’d picked up my camera in months.  These are some of the photos I took…

Duckling
Duckling

Ducklings
Ducklings

Waxeye
Waxeye

Lion fountain
Lion fountain

They mean different things to me… from the cuteness of the ducklings, through to the almost desperate stance of the lion.

—————-
Now playing: Brooke Fraser – Lifeline
via FoxyTunes

29 thoughts on “Venturing out

    • Hi vickilost,

      I’m glad you liked them 🙂 The ducklings were very cute – and very fast!

      I know it can be difficult, but I hope you manage to get out tomorrow.

      Take care,
      CG

  1. CG I’m so happy that you went out for a while and that you took your camera. It’s funny because just the other day I was thinking about you, and when you would take pictures and how good you are at it and how it seemed to make you happy. I realized that I wanted you to get that back, so this post is great.

    I understand that it may not mean that everything is great but it’s so good that you took those steps out the door for a purpose other than work. Beautiful pictures as usual. *hugs*

    • Hi tb,

      Thanks 🙂

      The reason you thought of photography for me, is the same reason we were all commenting that we hoped you kept up with the viola – even if you aren’t having formal lessons. It’s all about self expression and building connections.

      No, things aren’t great, but I’m pushing myself to try and get connected again. Things sometimes push back…

      Take care,
      CG

  2. The picture of the lion fountain reminds me of what my dog looks like after he’s had a good drink of water. 🙂

    Oh, btw, I’m reactivating my blog. Time to clear my head out via pixels and light. Of course, I’m starting out of the box with whinging… >g<

    • Hi bird,

      The value of a good long drink of water on a hot day can not be underestimated for your average pampered dog 🙂

      I’m glad you’re blogging again! I’ve heard that whinging is an euphemism for clearing the air… the most necessary of tasks. I’ll check out your clearing of the air after I get home from work.

      Take care,
      CG

  3. CG, thanks for taking and sharing your pictures. I can see that desperation in the lion -something with the water adds to it. I love the little ducklings. I have fond silly memories of summers at my grandmothers and time spent with my cousin. Ducks that are used to people are quite entertaining. Glad you got out. ~rl

    • Hi rl,

      I’m glad these photos brought back some fond, silly memories for you 🙂

      These ducks were quite friendly… the mother kept an eye on me, but I was on the bridge, and they were safely in the water, so she wasn’t too concerned.

      Take care,
      CG

  4. I stopped back by to see the ducks. Me and my cousin used to chase the ducks at my Grans. We’d pick up the ducklings and the mother duck would chase after us and we’d laugh. But we loved the ducks and weren’t hurting them. We’d feed them bread we stole from Gran. She’d yell at us to stop feeding them because they’d follow us and poop on the drive. *smiles* I miss those simpler times. I thought things were easier then. Sometimes they were. like when we played with the ducks at Grans. I’m having such a horrible horrible day. But I’m forcing myself out of the house. I’m going to try to drive down to the ranch and take a few pictures. I’ll post them if I do. I’m telling you this here because I think I’m trying to make myself have to do this. Seeing the horses will have to make me feel a tiny bit better even just for a second. Thank you for being here, posting pictures and writing. ~rl

    • Hi rl,

      How are you doing now? Did you manage to get out and connect with nature? I’d love to see the pictures if you got out 🙂

      I’m smiling at the image of you being followed by the ducks… they can be quite persistent, can’t they??

      Please take care,
      CG

      • Hi CG,

        Yes! I did venture out to the ranch. I posted a picture on my blog -not the best… he is so much more handsomer! 🙂 I’m going back today, with camera batteries charged. So, I’ll be posting more.

        I had a wonderfully healing time out there. We just had a cold front move through the area yesterday. So, temps were dropping from 70s to 50s. It hasn’t been this cold since last season. After a summer -here on the flip side- in the 90s, I’m ready for cooler temperatures.

        And, I spent so much time alone with the horses, ponies, donkey and our mule. They are such a beautiful blessing. So amazing. So loving. Sometimes I go out, but I’m feeling so poorly I can’t connect with them or anything. I was feeling worse than that poorly, but someone how God or the universe or my brain saw fit to let me be free and feel good for a few hours. I absolutely needed it.

        And, I was inspired by your venture out 🙂 Thank you!

        ~rl

        • Hi rl,

          I’m so glad you got out to the ranch 🙂 I just went and read your blog, and saw the photo… your big-eared little friend looks like they would bring lots of comfort and unconditional acceptance. He looks very handsome!

          It’s amazing how being in amongst nature can be so healing…

          Take care,
          CG

          • *smiles* He is a handsome and loving boy. He lets me snuggle on him as if he were a dog. I wrap my arms around his neck and give him kisses on his head and nose. I consider myself very fortunate to have found him! Hope you’re able to venture out again soon. ~rl

Please leave a comment

